One Game. Together.

An unmissable event

The Rugby League World Cup has been the pinnacle of International Rugby League since 1954. Now contested every four years, with a series of qualification tournaments leading up to it, the RLWC is open to all full and affiliate members of the Rugby League International Federation (RLIF).

In 2021, for the first time, the Men’s, Women’s and Wheelchair competitions will be staged in a single, celebratory event, culminating in an epic Finals Weekend to crown the champions of each. 


A special occasion

The pinnacle event in International Rugby League.


An unprecedented Platform

Bigger and better than ever.


An iconic event

A truly inclusive sport, for all.

Key Dates

All dates are subject to change.

January - July 2018

Stage 1: Host Bid Process

Towns and cities from across England and beyond commence the host process to express interest in staging RLWC2021 events. Stage 1 bids close 31st July, 2018.

August to December 2018

Host Bid Candidate Stage

Successful applicants from initial Host Bid Process to proceed to Candidate Stage

June 2018

Mens Qualifiers Start

Qualification process for the Men's competition will commence with European qualifiers. All RLWC2021 competing nations will be known by November 2019.

January 2019

Hosts Announcement

Following a rigorous review and selection process, RLWC2021 Hosts will be announced.

Late 2020

Tickets on Sale

RLWC2021 tickets go on sale to the general public. More information will be released via RLWC2021.com in due course.

23rd October 2021

Men's Groups Stages Start

Four pools of four teams commence competition in up to 14 stadia across England.

12th November 2021

Men's Quarter Finals Start

18th November 2021

Women's Pool Games Commence

Up to eight teams will compete in 16 games across 14 days.

18th November 2021

Wheelchair Group Stages Begin

For the first time the Wheelchair competition will take place along side the Men's and Women's, with up to eight teams competing.

18th November 2021

Men's Semi Finals Start

The winning teams from each of the quarter finals will proceed to the semi finals.

25th November 2021

Women's Semi Finals Start

The top four teams from the pool stages will compete for a place in the final.

25th November 2021

Wheelchair Semi Finals Start

The top four teams from the pool stages will compete for a place in the final to be scheduled as part of one 'Finals Weekend' along side the Men's and Women's Final.

27th & 28th November 2021

Epic Finals Weekend

Men's, Women's and Wheelchair tournaments culminate in an epic Finals Weekend!

Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner