host venues

IRL Ranking :

head coach

Head Coach:
Craig Richards


Emily Rudge


World Cup Appearances:
3 (2008, 2013, 2017)

Best Results

World Cup Best Result:
Third place – 2008 and 2013

host venues

RLWC2021 Host Town:

Team Bio

Women's rugby league was originally established in England in 1985 through the Women's Amateur Rugby League Association, with a Great Britain national team playing for the first time in a World Cup during the competition in the year 2000.  

Women’s international rugby league in England was always based around a Great Britain Women’s Rugby League team following on from it’s inception, with tours to Australia in 1996, New Zealand in 1998, and competing in the Women's Rugby League World Cup of 2000 and 2003 as Great Britain. It was decided by the RFL that from 2007 onwards the Great Britain Women’s team would no longer compete on a regular basis, and that players would be able to represent England, Wales and Scotland at international test level.  

 Since then, from 2008 onwards, England Women has competed on the international stage, playing in the 2008, 2013 and 2017 Women's Rugby League World Cups to date. In total the team has played 33 matches, winning 22, drawing one, and losing 10. They will be doing all their best to win the RLWC for the first time after disappointments in the semi-finals in the last three tournaments, especially with the RLWC2021 being on home soil.

 Currently, Women’s players in England are semi-professional as are many nation’s around the world. The domestic women’s league in England is the Women's Super League, which began in 2017 as the elite women's rugby league competition in England. Only four teams competed in the Women’s Super League in the 2017 season, and since then the league has developed exponentially, with the 2021 season being contested by 10 teams playing home and away against each other with subsequent play-offs and a grand final. 


Women's Group A


Tue 1


Headingley Stadium, Leeds


Women's Group A


Sat 5


DW Stadium, Wigan


Women's Group A


Wed 9


Headingley Stadium, Leeds



Salford City Roosters officially open their brand new clubhouse

The club secured £434,863, one of the largest grants ever awarded from the Rugby League World Cup 2021 CreatedBy RLWC2021 capital grants programme.

RLWC2021 closes London Stock Exchange to celebrate new tournament schedule

RLWC2021 Ambassadors Oliver Thomason and Jodie Cunningham were joined by Rugby League legends, including Shaun Wane and Martin Offiah MBE, for the closing ceremony.

Full Schedule revealed and tickets available now for 2022

All 18 original host town and cities remain involved with, all tournament finals now to be played in Manchester with Manchester Central set to host the wheelchair final.

Bigger and better. New schedule and tickets on sale from 9am Friday

The Rugby League World Cup 2021 officially begins today (15 November) as we can confirm the 61-match schedule will be revealed in full on Friday 19 November at 9am GMT.

Hear England Roar!

Buy your official Rugby League World Cup 2021 merchandise

Buy Today

Principal Sponsor


Official Sponsors

Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner


Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner Partner
recite me menu recite me menu